When Will The European Parliament Ratify The Withdrawal Agreement

October 15th, 2021

by Andrew Verboncouer

It was published in November 2018 and was the result of the Brexit negotiations. The agreement was approved by the heads of state and government of the remaining 27 EU countries[9] and the British government of Prime Minister Theresa May, but met with resistance in the British Parliament, whose approval was required for ratification. The consent of the European Parliament would also have been required. On 15 January 2019, the House of Commons rejected the Withdrawal Agreement by 432 votes to 202. [10] The House of Commons again rejected the agreement on March 12, 2019 by 391 votes to 242[11] and rejected it a third time on March 29, 2019 by 344 votes to 286. On the 22nd. In October 2019, the revised withdrawal agreement negotiated by Boris Johnson`s government was published as a first step in Parliament, but Johnson suspended the legislative process when the accelerated approval programme failed to find the necessary support and announced his intention to call a general election. [12] On 23 January 2020, Parliament ratified the agreement by adopting the Withdrawal Agreement. On 29 January 2020, the European Parliament approved the Withdrawal Agreement. It was then finalised by the Council of the European Union on 30 January 2020.

The British Parliament rejects the agreement for the third time. The UK has until 12 April 2019 to decide on the way forward: when it enters into force, the Withdrawal Agreement will now be put to a vote in the Council by qualified majority. Trade negotiations are expected to start in earn all due course in early March. The European Parliament will also have a say in the ratification of a future trade agreement. The UK Parliament decides that a further extension of the Brexit date is necessary because it wants to first review the relevant legislation before voting on the Withdrawal Agreement. .

Enjoy This Post? Share It!

Leave us a comment!